Ebay rates my, and Hilary Stephenson’s, Magnum Opus at a value of £2.50 – but at least someone is still buying!

The Campaign Manual by Myself and Hilary Stephenson - a collector's item going for a song at £2.50!

One of the most interesting aspects of working for the Liberal Democrats is the training and advice that you are asked to give to other agents, candidates, MPs and local parties.

In 2000, having agented a successful general election campaign, a couple of parliamentary by-elections and helped run the European elections in 1999 I was asked, with Hilary Stephenson, to write and design the new version of ‘The Campaign Manual’.

It was to form the basis of a the party’s training programme in the run up to the 2001 election and was to be published by ALDC.

Now trust me this is not entirely vanity but on occasion I, and I know others, type their name into Google just to see what the world is saying about them and whether anything interesting has been said.  ‘Vanity, vanity, all is vanity!’ I hear you cry.  But, admit it we all do.

Now, imagine my surprise when I did it the other day and discovered a link to ebay.  I was intrigued, possibly even worried, to discover what the auction website had for sale, and there it was – The Campaign Manual.

It is described as ‘Used’ which is more than I can say for many of them and it is also described as being in ‘Good Condition’.  I can’t quite decide what I think of the fact that is someone in Bath is selling it.  I suggest they keep it for the next few months just in case they need the secret recipe for making the perfect poster sticking solution.

I am of course delighted that it appears in ‘Non-Fiction’ and is rather generously described as being ‘Political Science’.  I always thought it was more of an art than a science but there you go.

I know you will all be excited about buying this magnum opus of myself and Hilary, it is a must for any serious political scientist’s bookshelf! Here’s the link and happy bidding.

You have until 16:48:49 this afternoon – Wednesday 27/01/10. 

The present price, selling, at £2.50 – what an absolute bargain.  Oh, and before you ask it isn’t me who has bid.  I still have a few copies somewhere.

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. The link is broken: here’s the right one: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=250565083113&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT

    P&P is free so £2.50 is definitely a bargain. I may bid myself…

    Reply
  2. Yes sorry about that – I think the link is identical strangely!

    Reply
  3. SOLD for £3.21, I am so moved!

    Reply
  4. You’re welcome! I’m looking forward to reading it 🙂

    Reply
  5. I still have mine! Well thumbed, sitting in pride of place on my bookshelf.

    That election was the first time I’d actually been an agent so I’m practically word perfect on bits of your book.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

