The Tory candidate who has dropped his Quadruple barrelled name as part of Cameron’s Detoffication Plan!

Would you change your quadruple barrelled name just to fit in? It certainly makes the posters that much easier...

Now plain Richard Drax you might think he is just a Bond villain with an exciting surname, but the Conservative candidate for Dorset South is really known as Richard Grosvenor Plunkett-Ernle-Erle-Drax.

Plunkett-Ernle-Erl-Drax, 51, is an Old Etonian like Mr Cameron and lives in a small Elizabethan pad set in just 7,000 acres.

The descendant of Admiral The Honourable Sir Reginald Aylmer Ranfurly Plunkett-Ernle-Erle-Drax (1880-1967), says that he uses Richard Drax in real life but says:

“I come from a very privileged background but it shouldn’t make any difference. It is what is in your soul.”

I find it difficult to disagree that he comes from a privileged background and by all accounts Richard’s ancestor from whom he has earned such an extreme name was in fact the person upon which some of the more outlandish P.G. Wodehouse names are based.

So, if you want Bertie Wooster as your MP in Dorset this may be the man for the job!

I must confess I am a little disappointed that just ‘Drax’ will appear on the posters in Dorset South, they would be a true collectors item for the smallness of the font on the billboards, but I suspect the ballot papers will still need to be made a little larger to accomodate his official name.

The Daily Mirror has a bit more here.

Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Foregone Conclusion

     /  December 8, 2009

    Could this man possibly be related to S.W.E. Earle-Drax MP, who when campaigning during the 1868 election after the Second Reform Act gave his address as such:

    ‘Electors of Wareham! I understand that some evil-disposed person has been circulating a report that I wish my tenants, and other persons dependent on me, to vote according to their conscience. This is a dastardly lie, calculated to injure me. I have no wish of the sort. I wish, and I intend, that these persons shall vote for me!’

    It would be somewhat surprising if it wasn’t, really!

    Reply
  2. Bubbles Lamnot

     /  December 8, 2009

    I changed mine to avoid confusion.

    Reply
  1. Is the return of the monocle a sign that the Old Etonian Tories are taking control or the preparations for a Labour anti-Toff campaign? « Alter Ego…

Leave a Reply

