Imagine my surprise when I discovered my dad was an East German secret agent!

It was quite a surprise to discover that my dad was an East German agent - I knew he was left wing but this is ridiculous!

It was quite a surprise to discover that my dad was an East German agent - I knew he was left wing but this is ridiculous!

I was settling down to watch ‘The Fourth Protocol’ the other evening, having watched for about an hour, and been interrupted by the phone, to discover that my dad was an East German agent!

This as you can imagine came as quite a surprise.

He has always given the impression of being more left wing than most, but I had never guessed he was an East German sleeper in the UK, during the Cold War.

The film, starring Michael Caine and Pierce Brosnan, is a marvellous thriller, based on the book, of the same name, by Frederick Forsyth.

Caine is tasked with finding the agent who has been sent to Britain to deliver a nuclear weapon ‘unconventionally’ – breaking the so-called Fourth Protocol.

As he is searching a database of known agents who are based in the UK, for those who might be harbouring Brosnan, my dad’s name appears as an East German agent. Is there something that Mr Forsyth knows that I don’t?

Very interesting Mr Ault!

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. Imagine my surprise when I discovered my dad was an East German … | germanbrite.com

Leave a Reply

